Who is eligible for the tests?

The tests are intended primarily for persons who, for any number of reasons, have missed their first opportunity to complete a high school program of instruction. The tests can be administered only to persons who are at least 16 years old; have not graduated from an accredited high school or received a high school equivalency certificate or diploma; and are not currently enrolled in a traditional high school.  You must be a New Jersey resident. If you are 16 or 17 years old, you must complete a Certificate of Consent to Participate, verifying that you are not enrolled in school, and the parent or legal guardian must bring it in person to the test center or have the consent form notarized by a New Jersey notary before a test will be administered. If you have a legal guardian, you must bring a copy of the court document awarding guardianship to the test center before a test will be administered. Written confirmation of eligibility must be provided by all candidates. You must bring identification to your test center when registering for a test.

Candidates, Graduates and Parents

January 1, 2014 – Present

Starting in 2014 New Jersey is using Three Tests, GED, HiSET and TASC.  There is no longer a total score requirement needed to pass.  If a student passes all individual sections of the test, they will receive the State-issued Diploma.

GED Social Studies 150
Science 150
Reading 150
Math 150
HiSET Writing 9
Social Studies 9
Science 9
Reading 9
Math 9
TASC Writing 500
Social Studies 500
Science 500
Reading 500
Math 500
ged classes, high school diploma,ged online